jam

Today, B & I had an early breakfast at Jam, a well-received Ukrainian Village brunch spot on Damen Avenue. We’ve been twice before and each time I’ve had their Malted Custard French Toast with Rhubarb, Lime Leaf Cream & Pink Peppercorn. Admittedly, french toast could sound much more pompous. But it also doesn’t get much better than that… If you’re at all a french toast fan (even if you’re not, really) you need to try this shiz. It’s that good.

B had some sort of egg and pork shoulder sandwich, that also had watermelon on it. I was pretty skeptical  at first, but the bite I stole was quite good — and I’m not normally a big fan of that sort of thing. We also split a side of pork belly. I don’t eat much meat, and when I do it always comes with a side of guilt, but this stuff was just too good to resist. Not that surprising, as their chef, Jeffrey Mauro, comes from Charlie Trotters and North Pond.

It was our first time going in warm enough weather to sit outside, in their sculpture garden, which was nice. I’d take eating outside, over inside, anytime. (One of the reasons I miss Spain so much…) Also, it’s getting noticably cooler out, and we’re just days from September, so we’re trying to enjoy the outdoors while we still can.

the king of french toast

nom nom nom

jam's insides

1 comment

Leave a Reply

