RPM Italian

Last Wednesday a few of my friends in the restaurant industry invited me to a practice party at RPM Italian, the just opened restaurant from celebrity duo Giuliana & Bill Rancic, executive chef Doug Psaltis, and the Melman siblings. The initials of their last names explains the name. It was a larger space than I expected, but they decorated it beautifully with lots of round booths and smaller tables, low lighting and mainly black, white & silver tones. It’s large but it still feels quite intimate, it’d be a good date spot. I’m not going to lie, I geeked out a bit when I saw both Paul McGee and Bill Rancic there.

The menu is quite expansive (and a little expensive, at least for me, but it’s pretty normal for the River North area). I was at a table of six so we shared everything and got to try a lot of different dishes. We ordered the Polenta with Poached Egg (great but not quite warm enough), Shredded Brussel Sprouts (surprisingly good), Kale & Pancetta (nothing special), and the Tuscan Kale, Heirloom Spinach salad, which was fantastic. We also tried three pastas – Bucatini Pomodoro (great potential but was too al dente, and I like al dente), the Short Rib Pappardelle (my least favorite dish) and Spicy King Crab pasta, which was not spice at all. We also shared the Natural Bone-In Rib Eye and the Grilled Giant Prawns, both of which were great. You can check out their full menu here.

Leave a Reply

