A Week in Restaurants

It’s been a busy week for me but, luckily, it has resulted in getting to dine at a number of different restaurants I’d wanted to try for some time now. On Monday, my mom was travelling through Chicago on her way to Seattle to visit her mother. She had a few hours to kill before her flight so she met me near my office, at Coco Pazzo Cafe in Streeterville, and we had a late lunch. We sat inside, due to the chilly weather, but they have a large outdoor seating area as well (which is my favorite way to dine). They provided a bread basket that included focaccia and oil for dipping — it was much better than your average bread basket. My mom ordered the Calamari, which I was more than happy to steal a few pieces of — it was really fantastic. She also ordered their Sette Vegetali which also looked delicious but I didn’t try. I had their Spaghetti AOP which was good but nothing special and definitely not spicy, as the waitress warned me it would be. Overall, the food was above average and the service was great. I’d love to give it another try when it’s warm enough to eat outside.

Coco Pazzo Cafe

On Tuesday, B and I took our good friends Christine and Jim out for dinner at Wasabi in Logan Square to celebrate their engagement over the weekend. B & I had eaten there once before and really enjoyed it so we were excited to go back, especially now that we knew it was BYOB (something we missed the first time around). We had edamame as an appetizer and then shared a bunch of different maki rolls, including the Spider, Logan, ArtMex, Cubby Bear, Hot Yogi Vegan & the Super White Tuna Crunch. All delicious! You can check out their full menu here.

ArtMex Maki Roll / Wasabi

Then, yesterday evening, I had a going-away-dinner with Allison, one of my best friends, who is moving to California to start a great new job. I’m happy she landed her dream job but I’m still sad to see her go. We had dinner at The Bristol in Bucktown, which I’d been wanting to try for years. Even with the long-awaited anticipation it still more than lived up to my expectations! The food was delicious, the decor spot on and the service was great yet still relaxed (I hate stuffy service). We started with their Monkey Bread with Sea Salt & Dill Butter and then each tried a different pasta dish — Allison had the Chitarra all Carbonara and I had one of their daily specials that I can’t remember the name of. For dessert Allison tried their carrot cake and I went for the cheesecake. We left full and happy!

Monkey Bread with Dill Butter / The Bristol

Next up is The Bedford, which is inside an old bank vault. B & I are going out for my birthday dinner there tomorrow night. Today is my last day as a 26 year old!

(photos via coco pazzo; wasabi; the bristol)

Leave a Reply

